Mindful Monday – Living in the Moment

Welcome to Mindful Monday. I’m happy to see you here. I had some issues with the first blog in that I could not change the address. This is the correct blog to follow: https://amindfuljourneysite.wordpress.com/. Thanks for your patience. ❤

In my weekly feature called, “Mindful Monday,” I like to share my views on becoming more ‘mindful.’  This encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to.

balance-in-your-life

This week my focus is on living “in the moment.” It should come as no great surprise when I tell you that I expect too much of myself.  I push too hard, and then tire myself out. My creativity stalls and I am just… stuck, immobile. That was my reaction to NaNoWritMo. I had my doubts, to begin with, but still felt compelled to try and push through the month.

What I found was that I was forcing myself to keep measuring up to standards I knew I could not meet. If we are always trying to measure up and not sure if we are measuring up, discouragement sets in. There seemed to be many things that discouraged me in November – the election results, NaNoWritMo, getting sick, the way my kids treat me…

The holiday season is upon us and even though I don’t celebrate Christmas, I feel everyone else’s anxiety. I thought this was the perfect time to practice a little self-love by pausing and living in the moment. I call this my empathic response to the world. Are you an empath? Go to empathtest.com to find out more about this unique ability that many introverted people possess. Take the test and explore the site. I did a post about my results you can find here. I learned quite a bit about myself that I didn’t know.

As a Buddhist, I like to embrace change. Stepping on the scale Saturday morning most certainly drove me to make a change. My weight triggered a revelation I had been pushing away for the last few months. I had given in to my cravings and once again these cravings became a source of suffering. I knew that I had to take control even though I felt the events of the world around me had pushed me to lose control. After all, I could not change many of the things that were bothering me so why was I letting them control me? It was time to let go.

let-go

Image Credit: Quotesgram.com

Today, I practiced taking deep breaths and slowing myself down. I collaborated on some good old-fashioned brainstorming and wrote down many new ideas. I realized there are no time constraints on my thoughts or in my writing. I took my time and moved forward slowly. I don’t have to respond to stimuli that I disagree with. Instead, it is a signal to slow down and live in the current moment knowing that this time will pass, and things will change once again. I did not push those thoughts away, instead, I looked at them and then let them go.

Gratitude

Image credit: Gratitude Habitat.com)

My mindful plan for this week is to pace myself and live within each moment and take it for what it is… only an instant that passes quickly. I plan on taking care of me this week with compassion, love, expanding my ideas and taking a breath! I will slow down and appreciate my self-worth!

Do you find yourself in similar circumstances?

My mantra for this week is:  Enjoy the pleasant and unpleasant because each will soon change.

Self care

(Image credit: Seek Your Course)

This is not a challenge.  This is an offering of support.  If you would like to join in with your own Mindful Monday goals, you can do so in the comments or on a separate post of your own making.  If you want to link back to my post, please feel free to do so, however, it is not necessary.  My primary objective here is to give and get support to become more mindful of the things I take for granted in life.

heart-you

Thanks for stopping by to visit. What are your mindful goals for this week?

~Colleen~

44 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – Living in the Moment

    1. Suzanne, that is fabulous. That was my intent. If we have a place where we can talk to each other about weight gain, mindfulness, and just all around women stuff, I figure it will help everyone. Baring my soul occasionally keeps me in better touch with myself. I can’t hide (or eat) my feelings. I am glad to have you. Your support means everything to me. Hugs. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have eating issues too. Right now my digestive problems restrict what I can eat so I have a terrible tendency to fill up on bread! I have put on weught this year too. It has been a hard year. Hopefully 2017 will be more centred and I will be more conscious of what I eat.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. A recent family problem has left me resentful and dare I say it, wanting revenge for a perceived hurt. I am trying to move on from this as I know that I cannot change anything and the other person is unwilling to meet to talk it through.My anger is palpable at times and forgiveness is hard to find in my mind.
    Perhaps in time they will see that our time on earth is too short to ignore the ones we love.
    Thank you Colleen for this site, helping us to find that invaluable resource of mindfulness.
    Norma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have similar issues with some of my kids, Norma. It hurts, but I can’t change it. Their perceptions of the past won’t let them move on. If you can’t change it, we must let it go. Me too!! Maybe if we write about those feelings it will help. That is mindfulness. Living in the moment and dealing with your feelings. Once you have examined them, you must let them go. If you have done everything to fix the issue (as I have tried) then the problem is not yours, it’s theirs and their response to it. Sometimes that is our lesson – learning to let go. Many hugs, Norma. I feel your pain. ❤

      Like

  2. Loved this thank you. I think we have a lot in common, far as brains go. I actually found tarot cards to be my meditation thing (they’re highly misunderstood there’s no magic involved). Anyway you’re right…everything is cyclical good or bad. Soon enough things will change. I call it the “Now”. CS Lewis wrote that “God” lives in the Now and that when we can quiet ourselves enough to be there too that’s when we’re closest to this God or whatever it is you believe in. I think it’s probably true regardless of religion. World wants to rush you nonstop but the world is fkd just look at it. Now is the place to be. Good luck and keep writing it’s great to know it’s not just me lol. E.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Echo, you are a breath of fresh air. I agree with you about the one… I think of it as a collective consciousness. How cool that you can meditate with tarot cards. You must do a post and share your thoughts. Our world is a mess but if we increase our own positivity we can help to enlighten others. Anyway this is a journey for all of us. Glad to meet you. You will love my future posts!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg you just kinda blew my mind…collective consciousness?! I didn’t think anyone else knew about that! Yay I’m not crazy rofl thx for that to! I’d love to talk about the cards but…I was raised basically to be afraid of myself. I fear a public burning or something idk…hmm. You’ve got me thinking now though. What kinda tarot stuff would ppl be interested in lol. Totally agree with your comment I think the (universal) collective = “heaven”. Stay cool (: E.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You could always do a guest post on my site. Talk about what the cards mean and how you use them. Whatever you are comfortable with. Yes, I do hold some unique ideals. I’m Buddhist so many of those ideas will slip through. I’m glad we connected. It was meant to be. ❤️

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Well who knows maybe I’m kinda Buddhist as well…I just really hate to be labeled haha. I’d love to do a guest post if you want…maybe I could do a reading for you to explain in action? I’m down for whatever tho. Either way, so glad we found each other lol I do believe some things are meant to happen (:

            Liked by 1 person

          2. I said the same thing! I’d always just thought I was nutso lol. I’m gonna post it somehow too thank you for passing it on (: lol not amazing but thx so much for thinking so. Ditto (;

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Go into your tools under WP Admin and drag the “Press This” icon to your bookmarks bar. Then when you see stuff from around the web you want to share click on Press this. It will bring up a template for you to share your post from. I use it all the time. Love it. Yes, I would say you and I are on the same wave length. I only saw one trait that I didn’t have. Not bad. It just reinforces what I’ve know forever. I told my husband and he said, “I could have told you all this!” LOL! He is an amazing guy! ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Hm sounds like I’d need a computer for that? I will make it happen tho thx for the help! I think I had them all except one too but kids came home and exploded my brain I’ll have to read again maybe it’s the same one as you lol. We do seem similar so forgive my over excitement haha…never met another “me” and I think it’s pretty neat.

            Liked by 1 person

          5. Haha aww (: ok so #6 and 24 don’t seem to apply to me. That’s mirroring physical ailments and carrying weight. And you? Don’t have to say I’m just nosy lol.
            Another amazing site…. 16personalities.com
            Every single person on earth should take that test and read the entire site. Srsly.
            Xoxo

            Liked by 1 person

          6. LOL. I worked in administrative/ accounting positions for over 20 years. The stress was killing me. I worked in large offices and FELT all the stress. At 55 , my husband and I decided that was it. Best decision I ever made! But… I get the creative dreams. That is how I wrote my first book, a YA fantasy soon to publish early January 2017. It is interesting how we all seem to relate. ❤️

            Liked by 1 person

          7. Oh wow! Yes that makes so much sense after reading about empaths. Crowds have always had weird effects on me too. That’s so cool about your dreams! And the writing congrats! Weird question…do you have a cover yet and if so where’d ya get it? Sorry if that’s too personal lol I understand if you don’t wanna say. Fantasy is my fav I bet a book based on a dream is very interesting indeed.

            Liked by 1 person

          8. Go to my author blog: colleenchesebro.com and click on the widget for Bookxeedo Book Covers. It will take you to my friend, Wendy’s site who designed my cover. I love her work and she is reasonable and easy to work with. ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          9. This is the only test ppl should ever take imo haha. The site IS excellent I’ve read every page and learned so much. Life altering. Glad you liked it! I’m a campaigner ENFP -A -T…and they know about The Collective. (; I’m now researching chakras…seems important. E.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Echo, you write something up. If you want to do a reading of me (Oh boy!) and explain what all of it means that would be cool. Think about and let me know. I love guest posts. That’s what this site is all about – women learning about themselves. Let me know. My email etc., is in my about page. Hugs. And, yes… we all meet for a reason. The Buddhists believe we are all related (past lives) anyway. That is why we must be kind to each other and show compassion… if only everyone got that. ❤

    Like

  4. Came here, on a gray, down and dreary day, from A Momma’s View. I love her for her openmindedness and all the time she seems to have to find good and useful posts by other bloggers.
    I am intrigued by the process and benefits one can derive through mindfulness, the practices of which seem to be varied and the definition of which seems to be open to interpretation. In my attempts to establish a mindfulness practice or at least an overall approach to the subject, I have studied a bit of Buddhism and Hinduism and so appreciate what I view as a kind of summary of the goals of mindfulness here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What an absolutely lovely thing to say. Welcome. A Momma’s View is such an excellent blog. Glad you made your way here. Join the journey. You never know what you will find. I try to share things that I think will help us find our way to Mindfulness and the person we want to become. Hugs! ❤

      Like

I love hearing from you! <3

