Mindful Monday – A New Year, A New YOU!

Welcome to Mindful Monday and my first post of the new year. Each week I try to look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming healthier. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to live in the present. Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.

Happy New Year everyone! Now, that we have the holiday’s behind us it’s time to make a few decisions on planning our mindful journey for this year. Have you done that yet?

Image credit: visual.ly

No… Well, the first question I ask myself when I start planning is what do I hope to achieve? Do I want to lose weight? If so, how much? Do I want to eat better? Do I want to exercise more? Do I want to find more time for learning meditation?

Do I want it all?


Yes, I do want it all. I want to immerse myself into the idea of becoming more mindful of my life choices – mentally and physically. However, I want to do it in such a way that the change is not too overpowering. It is human nature to resist change, so I must play a mind game with myself…

So, I Start Small!

You know how at the beginning of each new year you start making a bunch of rash and outlandish resolutions that you never keep anyway? Don’t do that! You never follow through on those resolutions and forget them as soon as they are made.

Instead, get a notebook and write what you really want. I called mine: Mindful Monday 2017. I started with ideas that I knew I could achieve. This trick always helps me to build confidence in myself. It also helps me finish what I start.

I start with a list of five things. This is my list for this year to begin my mindful journey:

  1. Lose 5 pounds and create a daily walking program with the dogs. (My goal is to lose 15 pounds during 2017)
  2. Meditate once a day.
  3. Write in my food journal daily, and list the five things you are grateful for each day.
  4. Continue writing and working on your second book. Pace yourself.
  5. Stop writing each day no later than 4 pm. Spend more time with Ron.

When I start small, I don’t feel so intimidated. I feel in control and know that with some due diligence on my part, I can do these simple goals.

Lose 5 Pounds

Notice how I didn’t say that I wanted to lose 15 pounds? That sounds so daunting! If I say I want to lose 5 pounds, I know I can do that.

Once I have achieved the goal of losing 5 pounds, I will cross it off and change the target to read another 5 pounds! In this way, I trick myself into following through on small goals. These all add up toward reaching my goal, so I get what I was after anyway – losing 15-pounds! 

Daily Walking

A daily walking plan is just what I need. I know I am sitting too much and that is never a good thing. I have begun walking on my treadmill when I check email and read blogs. I have added it to my “TO DO” list on my date planner. I like to see my list crossed off with all the things I have completed. This is another mind game I play with myself to meet my goals. At the end of the day, I am happy if my list is completed. I feel like I carried out my goals for that day.

Meditate Once a Day

I stumbled upon the Chopra Center and this great article about meditation for beginners: Learn to Meditate in 6 Easy Steps. Meditation is all about relaxation and counting your breaths. It makes you live in that simple moment – listening to your own breath going in and out… The best part is that you choose your own mantra to repeat. Here’s mine:

Write in My Food/Gratitude Journal Daily

Part of pursuing a healthy lifestyle is taking the time to do the things that keep you in line. When I keep track of my daily food intake by writing in a notebook, I lose weight. When food journaling becomes a priority, losing weight happens. As a bonus, I like to list five things I am grateful for each day. That way, I can’t have a pity party because I chose not to eat something that wasn’t right for me. My friend, Annette Rochelle Aben, asks her friends every day what we are grateful for on a Facebook post. It feels good to share what you are most thankful for that day.

Continue My Daily Writing Goal (The Meadow Fairy)

I discovered that if I write for two hours each day on my novel that I get more done that way. I’m talking about a first draft here, so it is a stream of consciousness writing. Later I will go back and edit and rewrite. This is just to get the story out of my head and on paper. This is a huge goal for me because I hope to have the second book in The Heart Stone Chronicles finished and published by late autumn. By making this goal a priority, I know I must stay on track to reach my goal.

Find an End to My Day

Find time to spend with those you love most. Step away from the computer. Get off social media. Put your phone down. Let your brain decompress. Relax and get ready for a bedtime ritual. READ A BOOK. This will make sure that you have a fabulous night’s sleep to begin your new day tomorrow!

My favorite guy

Sugar and Spice

Image credit: TFLguide.com

The bottom line is to set some goals for yourself for 2017. Figure out what you want to do and how you want to meet those objectives. As you can see, being mindful is all about becoming aware of your own needs.

If you would like to join me with your goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my weekly Mindful Monday posts. I’m happy to have you along for the journey! ❤

Image credit: JingaJuice.ph

Remember, this is not a challenge.  Each of us has different goals that we want to reach. This is an offering of support and a place where my online community can come to talk about mindfulness. If you would like to join in with your own Mindful Monday post, you can do so in the comments, or on a separate post of your own making.  If you want to link back to my post, please feel free to do so, however, it is not necessary.

Thanks for being part of my journey into mindfulness. Don’t forget to share your goals for 2017. ❤ Happy New Year Blessings to you all. Namaste.

17 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – A New Year, A New YOU!

Add yours

  1. I will be joining you Colleen on Mindful Journey. A strange coincidence has happened for me over the Christmas period that links in well with your MJ. I subscribe to and support the British Heart Foundation; (my husband had radical heart surgery last year) and this months newsletter is all about setting goals. I know it is really intended for patients, but I have found it very useful for pointers to keep my hubby well. It was almost like Karma to have both posts over the past couple of days.
    I like the idea of small goal setting as it really is not so daunting as the big, almost impossible goals one can set out for the year.
    So my first small goal is to re-read and edit my novel .
    Best wishes Norma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s wonderful, Norma. We all have to work on our health these days. I can’t wait to read what you have come up. It’s funny how sometimes the universe speaks to us in magical ways. I have received some deep messages lately myself. We’ll work on these things together. Sometimes all we need is some support. Happy New Year Blessings! ❤

      Like

  2. I am mindful of having similar goals (except for the making time to spend with your husband, no offense). And thanks for the mention! I do believe that gratitude is such an amazing energy that we’d all benefit as a collective whole from each of us employing gratitude techniques daily. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know, last year I was writing weekly for Mindful Monday- Healthy Living. When I quit writing the piece is when I noticed my attitude changed. As soon as I started keeping track of what I am thankful for each day, my mood improved and I became happier. It is such a simple concept. We are in charge of us and we need to do things to make ourselves happier! We’ll just keep spreading that message! ❤

    Like

  4. Happy New Year, Colleen! Your goals look very achievable and will make you feel wonderful when they are accomplished! I believe small goals are better for us! I need to use this month to write on my next book! My goal today was to put Christmas away for the year!

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! <3

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

