Mindful Monday – The Benefits of Daily Walking

Welcome to Mindful Monday. I can’t believe we are half way through January 2017. Where does the time go?

Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more mindful. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to live in the present. Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.

How are you coming on your mindful goals for 2017? Usually by the middle of January everyone has abandoned any goals or resolutions they have set for themselves. If you fall into that group, don’t fret. Instead, reassess your goals.

Did you set fitness goals that you can’t keep up with? Then, step back and shift your perspective on fitness. When you set fitness goals for yourself, decide if they are they realistic to who you are as a person. The number one problem with most of us is that we want to reach a state of fitness quickly, so we tend to set lofty goals that we can’t keep up with.

Does striving for the perfect fitness regime defeat our goals?

What does “fitness,” really mean to you? When you break down what you are hoping to gain from exercise, that result will change your perception of fitness. Ask yourself this question: Fitness for what?

Here is what I am talking about. My exercise goals are aimed at helping me feel better. I want to feel strong again with no achiness in my back or hips. Because I spend so much time sitting at the computer writing, this has become an issue. I live in the mountains of Colorado where the winter winds howl over the eastern facing slopes. This makes walking outside on a regular basis hard to do.

The solution for me was a treadmill. I added a board across the handles and placed my laptop on top so that I could walk and read emails, etc. I walk at 2 mph which is perfect for typing and reading messages. I started out slowly, walking only 15 minutes a day. Little by little, I have increased the time to an hour per day.

The results have been incredible. I feel better and sleep better since beginning this exercise journey. I have been able to eat some things (cookies) that I couldn’t before without gaining weight. In fact, I am losing weight and feeling stronger.

15 Minutes

Family Circle magazine, the November 2016 edition, page 187 shares:

“15 minutes – that’s the amount of time you need to exercise in order to curb your desire to stress eat after a mentally challenging day. Talk yourself into a quick treadmill workout instead of diving onto the couch, and your waistline may thank you. -AC”

However, there is scientific evidence that even just 10 minutes of movement can increase your confidence, clarity, creativity, decision-making, and emotional well-being. Read this article from the Daily Mail.

Image credit: Pinterest.com

Now… let me ask you a question. If you could exercise for fifteen minutes a day would you? Look at those benefits! You could have a better relationship. What if after you’ve accomplished that fifteen minutes of exercise you were able to come up with a brilliant idea for a book or poem?

When your exercise plan becomes fun and good for you is when the best benefit of all is met – you feel good about yourself. And, that is the best gift you could give to yourself. Self-care becomes fitness for life.

If you would like to join me with your goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my Mindful Monday post. I’m happy to have you along for the ride!

Here’s who peeked in last week when we took a personality test from 16personalities.com. If you haven’t checked your personality type, you might want to check it out. These tests give you insight into how you think and function. I find it refreshing to understand the way I think.

Barbara from Create with Barb

Terri from Second Wind Leisure.com

Stop by and let me know how your fitness goals are going for 2017. I love hearing from you! Namaste. I hope much peace and joy for you this week. ❤

9 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – The Benefits of Daily Walking

    1. I agree with you Bernadette. My lower back is killing me since I put that extra 15 pounds on… it’s got to come off. It is amazing what kind of stress that weight puts on us. Keep walking and drinking fluids. That really helps to flush fat! Thanks for your comments. We’ll get there! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Walking is amazing! Love your treadmill set-up, Colleen. When I go to the gym, I take my Kindle and get a lot of reading done while on the elliptical. Most days I can walk with Aero, even in the California winters. Glad to hear the daily exercise is paying off for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just 15 minutes a day, it doesn’t seem so difficult really does it. My treadmill bit the dust a few years ago and I would love another (hubs is not so keen on that idea). Your idea to combine your computer and emails with the treadmill is quite inspiring, it would not have occurred to me and I was always horribly bored on my treadmill which eventually found it’s way into my husbands workshop/garage – you can imagine that didn’t inspire me to get out and use it regularly. I do walk in the open of course, but have lost the habit over past months. I have managed to lose a nice chunk of weight since Christmas and I am very happy about that, so I can tick at least one of my fitness goals. My knees are thanking me and I’m hoping sleep patterns will soon. My aim is to either reduce or eliminate blood pressure tablets from my life. Thank you for mentioning me in your post too, knowing more about what makes ourselves tick is always interesting. Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Barbara. It seems that keeping our weight in check and remaining mobile is the key to healthy aging. I gain weight so quickly (thyroid issues) that I have to really stay on top of it. Good for you. Thanks for sharing your journey. It is truly inspiring! ❤

      Like

I love hearing from you! <3

