Mindful Monday – Change & Renewal

Welcome to Mindful Monday. Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more mindful. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to live in the present.

Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.

We’ve covered quite a few things this January, such as spiritual growth, goal setting, defining our exercise and eating goals, and even recognizing our personality types. This week I want to talk about our body’s capacity for change and renewal.

Deepak Chopra on the Daily Om shares:

“…”the forgotten miracle”–the body’s infinite capacity for change and renewal. “You cannot take advantage of this miracle,” Chopra says, “unless you are willing to completely reinvent your body, transforming it from a material object to a dynamic, flowing process. Your physical body is a fiction. Every cell is made up of two invisible ingredients: awareness and energy.”

Chopra offers a course which details five recent breakthroughs of the body that lead to self-transformation by changing the distorted energy patterns that are the root cause of aging, infirmity, and disease. Daily Om. You can find the price of the course at the Daily Om link.

Image credit: Facebook: Wild Woman Sisterhood

Thinking about change and renewal is something that has become crucial to me this year. Actually, my transformation began last year while I was writing The Heart Stone Chronicles: The Swamp Fairy.

My idea for the story was that in unusual places around the earth one could find large calcite stones weathered by the wind and rain into the shape of a heart. The calcite heart stones were fairy Raths which formed a dome of protection around a certain artifact that humanity could not do without.

Of course, my research led me to calcite and the meaning of the stone. Calcite is a fairy stone that assists in the channeling process when it is grounded and practical, but not when the work is ungrounded or not for the good of others. Also, the stones offer protection from evil spirits, offers psychic security, and protects the wearer by helping them to stay connected to the Earth’s center. Fairy stones often adopt the people they wish to help, giving the adoptees the nickname of “little helpers.” Meanings.crystalsandjewelry.com

The more I discovered about calcite, the more interested I became. I had stumbled upon information that became transformational to me. Just like the heroine in my story, Abby Forester, I too needed to become grounded and in sync with mother earth. So, I dove into finding out how calcite could help me move forward in my mindful journey.

I started out reading Healing Crystals for you.com:

“Calcite Crystals come in quite a few colors all of which are most helpful… as they are powerful amplifiers and cleansers, particularly of the emotions.


Pink Calcite

Pink Mangano Calcite… is opaque, and there is also a pink transparent variety. Both are strong heart chakra stones.

The transparent stones encourage compassion so resonate strongly within the thymus or higher heart chakra.


Green Calcite

Green Calcite also works at the heart chakra.

These crystal stones will cool your emotions, especially on the mental plane, and will aid you to let go of things and circumstances that no longer serve you.

Orange Calcite is highly cleansing for both the sacral chakra and the base chakra.

It will balance the emotions, overcome depression, release fear and enhance creativity.

Use clear Optical Calcite for insight and clarity.


Blue Calcite

Blue Calcite is for the throat chakra, and can assist clear communication and helps to soothe the emotional body.

The lighter Yellow or Honey Calcite is a strong solar plexus chakra stone that gives you clarity and insight.

Gold Calcite works at the third eye chakra and the crown chakra.

Red Calcite is strong base chakra stone that will link the base and crown chakras.


Calcite Fairy Stone

Calcite Fairy Stones are unusual shaped stones that were created when calcite filled the areas with glacial clay.

They are gorgeous stones that have an attractive, supportive and harmonious quality that may draw you to them.

This Calcite variety is helpful to have in your life, as it seems to safeguard and support you when required.

These crystals resonate out into the area where they are located, and they are known to aid Earth healing.

Use them in meditation if you do channeling, as they can help you to bring information back from the spirit realm more accurately.”

The Seven Chakras

What is a Chakra? A chakra is a word taken from the Sanskrit language which means “wheel,” as in the wheel of life. It is believed that our chakras are like wheels, tiny rotating vortexes of energy which are located in specific areas of the body as shown above. The chakras start from the bottom of the spine and extend to the top of our head. Each chakra embodies a particular organ, endocrine system, or part of the body which directs our energy flow.

All organic life gives off faint intangible energies and electromagnetic frequencies. Life experiences, our health, thoughts, and emotions, all can change the frequency and vibrations that emanate from our bodies. Chakras can be open or closed as they relate to our mental or physical and spiritual states. When our chakras are healthy, they will spin in a clockwise direction.

Negative experiences can drain our energy stores which then causes our chakras to become imbalanced. This is why a person will feel emotionally drained, both physically and emotionally, when something upsets them. Chakra re-balancing helps to release the blockage which are manifestations of a lifetime of physical and mental trauma. Junebugmemphis.com

Explanation of the chakras, the colors, the gems, the planets, and the energies:

Image credit: Junebugmemphis.com

As you can see, the fourth chakra is the heart chakra, and it is balanced with a green stone… as in green calcite. Now you know how I came up with the name of my YA fantasy series: “The Heart Stone Chronicles.”

My friend, Irene, from IreneDesign2011, created calcite necklaces for my readers so they could have a copy of their own which you can check out for yourself below.

The large piece of calcite in the photo above (in the middle) was a gift from Irene. I have been sleeping with it next to my bed. My sleeping has grown deeper, and I find that I don’t wake up tired in the morning. I’ve also noticed that my dreams are more grounded and have become even more meaningful to me. As an empathic writer, the calcite has brought clarity to what my dreams are trying to tell me.

I can’t think of a better way to begin a journey of change and renewal than by learning how to take care of my body and the seven chakras that power our energy sources. ❤

Here is how to open your heart chakra:

Venture outside in nature. Become green by imagining the first tiny shoots of spring breaking forth from the soil.

See green everywhere you look. Close your eyes and imagine a brilliant green light exploding from your heart center which is located at the center of your sternum and below your shoulder blades.

Breathe in the green of the summer grasses.

Think and become love.

Give love freely to others.

Remember that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

Start learning about and practicing yoga.

Forgive others and yourself daily.

*Ideas were taken from Mindbodygreen.com

Read more at Mindbodygreen.com for more information on balancing your heart chakra. You will want to visit this page because I found the information to be most illuminating.

Here’s how to get your own calcite pendants:

The small calcite heart stone pendant is at the left near the hummingbird on the cover. Here is the link to Irene’s Etsy site where you can buy your own pendant: https://www.etsy.com/listing/480852170/black-silk-necklace-with-silver-wrapped

The large calcite heart stone pendant is pictured at the right just above my name. Here is the link: https://www.etsy.com/listing/480852682/black-silk-necklace-with-silver-wrapped

Here’s who joined us last week when we discussed The Benefits of Daily Walking:

Bernadette from Haddon Musings

Terri from Second Wind Leisure.com

Barbara from Create With Barb

If you would like to join me with your mindful goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my Mindful Monday post. I’m happy to have you along for the ride!

Namaste. I wish you much peace and joy this week. ❤

7 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – Change & Renewal

I love hearing from you! <3

