Mindful Monday – Redefining Your Weight Loss Goals

012217_2215_MindfulMond1.jpg

Welcome to Mindful Monday. Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more mindful about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to live in the present.

Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.

Let’s see, now… This year we have set goals and looked at ways to make some life changes on our mindful journey. We are learning what being mentally and physically healthy means to us, specifically. That’s great! Remember, everyone’s journey is different. We aren’t all looking for the same things, but it is easy to support each other no matter what our goals are.

I want to become healthy and lose weight. I also want to get more in touch with my empathic abilities. Those are some of the things that I decided to concentrate on this year. Some people are looking for ways to add more exercise, and others want to take it slow and focus on becoming more mindful and figuring out what that means to them.

So, what does being healthy mean?

Image credit: stylefox.com

There seems to be a plethora of pictures and definitions about what being or becoming “healthy” means. I believe we should all define that word for ourselves. Educate yourself on the differences, and then make your own decision.

Of course, becoming healthy for me is all about losing weight and maintaining a healthy weight for my body type.

The first thing we need to think about when we are setting new weight loss goals is to decide what kind of plan you are going to follow. Don’t jump into a diet that is so strict that you can’t indulge and have some treats occasionally. All you’re doing is setting yourself up for failure, and then you will blame yourself for making the decision to indulge! It becomes a vicious circle that only makes you feel guilty about living!

Instead of eating 10 mint chocolate chip walnut cookies, only eat two with a cup of tea or coffee. You still get your treat, and that makes you feel special, as it should. If you have a huge family gathering and Grandma makes her special apple pie, don’t turn that down! Have the pie. Just make it a small portion so that you get to enjoy the luxuries from Grandma’s kitchen. Life is too short to not indulge. Learn to pace yourself.

Speaking of indulgence, I am still struggling with my weight loss attempts. That is because I have not committed myself to following a plan. I have been dabbling with the idea of losing weight instead of dealing with the issue straight on. It’s time for me to commit to what works best for me: Weight Watchers.

I have had great success with the program in the past and know it works. In 2012, I lost 55 pounds and kept it off for almost three years… until I quit following the plan and doing what I knew to be right for me.

Weight Watchers is now offering an exclusive deal that I have decided to take advantage of. Click HERE to find out if this is something you might be interested in.

If so, please let me know in the comments so that we can help and encourage each other. We can create a private Facebook page and check with each other daily to share tips and tricks if you’re interested.

I am going to sign up on Wednesday, February 8, 2017. It always helps me to choose a date and then follow through on my decision. I will be sharing more of my weight loss journey in the future, and I hope you will join me.

In the meantime, ARE YOU DOING EATING YOUR VEGETABLES?

 

I did try a new squash last week. This is called a kabocha squash. Realsimple.com
shares:

“This pumpkin-shaped Japanese squash (typically 2 to 3 pounds) is relatively new to the U.S. market but has caught on quickly due to its subtle, honeyed sweetness and smooth, almost fiber less texture. The jade green exterior has light green stripes, and the meat is a pale orange. Drier and denser than most squashes, the kabocha can be baked or steamed, like acorn squash, or pureed to give soups a buttery richness. Ideal for Soups.”

It was a bit pricey but worth a try. I steam my squash (and most fresh veggies) in the steamer I bought from Target. I did like the way this squash tasted. It had a smooth texture, and I added it to my smoothies in the evening. It would taste wonderful with a bit of butter and just a touch of salt, too. I would have this squash in place of a potato because the calories and sugars are less.

Image credit: EBFarm.com

Squash is a great alternative to potatoes. I buy many kinds of squash and eat them regularly. Spaghetti squash is amazing and will save you tons of calories if you use the squash like pasta noodles. I do the same thing with this squash. It is fabulous steamed!

Cooksmarts.com
offers a produce cooking website dedicated to all things vegetables. It is worth checking out if you get sick of the same old veggies!

Remember to eat foods that have the most color but remember white is also a color in the veggie kingdom. So, don’t forget to eat cauliflower. Food that is white (potatoes, rice, bread, pasta, etc.) have a higher calorie count due to the amount of starch in the item. Limit starchy foods and replace them with more vegetables. The fresher, the better. If you must eat canned vegetables, rinse, and microwave them. It will help you eliminate much of the salt.

The American Diabetes Association has an excellent explanation of what carbohydrates are. Carbs affect our blood sugar levels, so you really need to understand the difference between the good and bad carbs. Unbelievably… fruits and veggies are CARBS!

Yoli.com shares the difference between good and bad carbs:

PopSugar.com has a two-week weight loss plan using vegetarian dinners all under 300 calories.

Go to MyPlate.gov to see what the healthy eating guidelines are.

Image Credit: MyPlate.gov

Image credit: USDA MyPlate.gov

How’s that for some veggie inspiration? Here’s who joined us last week when we discussed Empathic Healing Tools:

Adele, from Firefly465

Annette Rochelle Aben

Tess, from How the Cookie Crumbles

Tina Frisco

Lucy, from Secret Diary of Porter Girl

Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. It always makes the path easier when we have friends along for the ride.

Remember… If you would like to join me with your mindful goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping-back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my Mindful Monday posts. I’m happy to see you!

Namaste. I wish you much peace and joy this week.

READ MORE ON COLLEEN’S FAIRY WHISPERS

Sign up for my monthly newsletter where you will find new reads from across the web plus a few creations of my own. Written, just for you, with fairy love and mindfulness, each month. Just fly over to my SIGN UP PAGE and enter your email. ❤

CONNECT WITH ME – I love hearing from you!

colleenchesebro.com  Amazon  Twitter  Facebook  Google+  Instagram

13 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – Redefining Your Weight Loss Goals

  1. The note to yourself is fantastic. How often we care about our loved ones health and neglect our own. On another note, spaghetti squash is the best. I roast it with a little olive oil and seasonings – yum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH, that sounds good. I can’t do regular pasta. As I’m getting older I am finding there is less and less I can eat. And, my portions are way too large… even salad. Who gains weight from eating salad with no dressing? Me! LOL! 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What an excellent post that covers all the good things about being mindful about eating and seeking healthful food options! Glad you are back with weight watchers! I was successful both times and made it to lifetime. On this current journey on WW, I’ve lost 30 pounds (most of it within the first 6 months). With the phone app and new smart points I can be in this for life. They have made it very easy to follow. I am on a small Facebook WW group and I can add you if you like. And as far as sweets? There are just days when I need to have more than other days. Good luck and PM me if you wish!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Terri. I would love the support of being part of your facebook group. I made lifetime in 2012 but it doesn’t help you for online WW, unless you know something I don’t. I still have my paperwork. Here in Colorado Springs, there are no meetings close by. I don’t drive so it makes it difficult. Online will keep me in line. I appreciate your help. I hate that I gained back 18 pounds. It’s over now, so now it’s time to get it under control. Many hugs! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! <3

