Mindful Monday – Mindful Weight Loss

Welcome to Mindful Monday. Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more conscious about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to live in the present.

Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.

Well… I did it. This week, I joined Weight Watchers Online. The Smart Points system is a bit different than the Points Plus system was but I feel like I am making progress. I weigh in on Wednesdays so I will have another post to announce my progress.

I felt fantastic and had a successful week. I must attribute my success to staying on my plan, journaling my food intake in my food diary, and because I started walking again. I measured all my portions and ate more protein.

Remember, even if you are not following weight watchers there are ways for you to slim down by making some changes:

Image credit: SHCS UC Davis

Portions?

Weight Watchers is not a diet. It is a healthy eating plan. You are changing your eating habits, not going without food. There is no starvation. Instead, they teach you about healthy portions.

The first thing I had to learn was what constituted a healthy portion… be prepared to cry! If you are like me, your portion sizes are way too big!

Image credit: Heathlyfood.co.uk
(provided for my UK friends)

Image credit: Claudia Campa

Here is my secret to staying happy and eating some sugar occasionally:

I call this my “3 Bite Rule.” After each bite, I savor it and actually taste it. Call if mindful chewing. It has been my experience that when I do finally indulge in a sweet, I am sometimes satisfied after only 3 bites. As far as tracking the points value, that depends on you. A 10th of a piece of yellow sugar-free cake with sugar-free chocolate frosting is 6 points according to my Smart Points app. I would say three bites is at lease one point… but you should decide that for yourself.

Remember, eating is all in your mind. My anticipation of what the sweet will taste like is what fuels my desire. Sometimes, I bite into that cookie and think, “Hmmm… this doesn’t even taste as good as I expected it would!” Rejoice when you reach this point. 😀

The other half of my 3 Bite Rule is the fact that you allowed yourself the sweet. Just not at the portion size you would have usually liked to have eaten it. Following this rule makes me feel like I am in control of what I eat. Now, I only do this once a week. Having sweets should be a treat, not an everyday affair. If you follow the 3 Bite Rule, you can have your cake and eat it too!

Exercise

I pulled a muscle in my back this week and had to refrain from the treadmill for two days. Weight Watchers suggests that I get a minimum of 46 minutes a day exercise. That is easy to do on the treadmill while reading email, etc.

Don’t forget to count your activity around the house. Exercise is exercise. We have a large house, and I spent a total of 35 minutes or so vacuuming upstairs and downstairs. In fact, one day I dusted and did laundry. By the time I was done, I had logged 1.5 miles on my phone! Get up and get active!

Healthstatus.com provides a calculator that you can input your activities by the number of minutes you performed that activity. It will then convert the minutes to figure out how many calories you burned. Just with my two half hour walks and my three hours of cleaning I used 1,089 calories.

Remember a pound of fat = 3,500 calories. To lose one pound in a week, you must reduce your calories by that amount.

So, that was my week. Successful in every way. I feel good about myself, and I feel good that I made it through week 1! Thank you for giving me the incentive to stay on plan. The information about portion sizes and my 3 Bite Rule is an excellent way to start your journey. Everyone should pat themselves on the back for a job well done!

How was your week?

Here’s who joined us last week for Redefining your Weight Loss Goals:

Bernadette from Haddon Musings

Annette from Annette Rochelle Aben, Author & Poet

Terri from Second Wind Leisure.com

Michelle from Michelle Clement James.com

55b54a42acce2fac5b037aa9ed90da79

Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. It always makes the path easier when we have friends along for the ride.

Remember… If you would like to join me with your mindful goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping-back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my Mindful Monday posts. I’m happy to see you!

SHARE THE JOY! NAMASTE.

READ MORE ON COLLEEN’S FAIRY WHISPERS

Sign up for my monthly newsletter where you will find new reads from across the web plus a few creations of my own. Written, just for you, with fairy love and mindfulness, each month. Just fly over to my SIGN UP PAGE and enter your email. ❤

CONNECT WITH ME – I love hearing from you!

colleenchesebro.com  Amazon  Twitter  Facebook  Google+  Instagram

15 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – Mindful Weight Loss

  1. I don’t set weight loss goals for myself, but I’m clarifying my fitness and health goals, which I’ll be writing on at various points throughout the year. I set a monthly target for hour much moderate/strenuous activity; then use my phone’s stopwatch feature to keep track. I’m finding that it’s not as hard to fit in as it was when I started, and I’ve increased my goal most months. It’s also encouraged me to attend tai chi class, and set up couples’ workouts with my Accomplice.

    Without a goal, I might not do that – or have dived into decluttering and beautifying efforts throughout the house.

    This week, I took a mindful look at building blocks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Colleen, when I started weighing my food, in some cases, I got to eat a lot more than I expected! I need to practice mindful eating more–I’m guilty of shoveling it in! Great info-graphics, and I’m happy to hear about your progress. I’ve been craving sugar the past two weeks and rely on those weight watchers bars for 2 points! I also discovered PB2 (powdered peanut butter)! Amazing–love it with my banana!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve found another treat that works for me, Terri. I take a small apple (Fuji) and add a 1/4 cup of old fashioned oatmeal and cook it with stevia and cinnamon. It ends up right at two points for the oatmeal but is sweet and filling. I have added cocoa powder to the oatmeal before too. I can’t believe how much food you get to eat on WWSP. The first week was hard to get past 23 points. The last couple of days, I have made the 30 points. Whew! I increased my walking to 70 minutes a day. We’ll see how my results are next week. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha, Ha! The power of photography. The 15 pounds is all about staying at a healthy weight. I am having some tests run as diabetes runs in my family. I have some of the signs and am concerned about exercise and the reduction of eating sweets. Portion control is important. I will have more in my post tomorrow. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! <3

