Mindful Monday – How to Eat Mindfully

122516_2038_MindfulMond1.jpg

Welcome to Mindful Monday. Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more conscious about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to live in the present.

Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.


Do you ever think about what it means to eat mindfully? Wait… I’m not talking about sitting on the couch while you’re watching a movie and mindlessly eating a bag of chips. Not that kind of mindful eating!

Instead, sit down at a table with a beautiful place setting. Take a few moments to pause and taste your food. Slow down. What are you thinking about with each bite? How do you feel? Are you hungry or thirsty? What is your body telling you?

Try to connect with you – the person holding the fork.


Jean Kristeller, Ph.D., a psychology professor at Indiana State University, created a mindfulness-based eating program that teaches people to connect with the feelings and body signals. The Center for Mindful Eating shares:

“Mindful Eating is allowing yourself to become aware of the positive and nurturing opportunities that are available through food selection and preparation by respecting your own inner wisdom. By using all your senses in choosing to eat food that is both satisfying to you and nourishing to your body, acknowledging your responses to food (likes, dislikes or neutral) without judgment, and becoming aware of physical hunger and satiety cues to guide your decisions to begin and end eating you can change your relationship to food.”

Here are the Principles of Mindful Eating from the site:

“Principles of Mindfulness:

Mindfulness is deliberately paying attention, non-judgmentally, in the present moment.

Mindfulness encompasses both internal processes and external environments.

Mindfulness is being aware of your thoughts, emotions, and physical sensations in the present moment.

With practice, mindfulness cultivates the possibility of freeing yourself of reactive, habitual patterns of thinking, feeling and acting.

Mindfulness promotes balance, choice, wisdom, and acceptance of what is.

Mindful Eating is:

Allowing yourself to become aware of the positive and nurturing opportunities that are available through food selection and preparation by respecting your own inner wisdom.

Using all your senses in choosing to eat food that is both satisfying to you and nourishing to your body.

Acknowledging responses to food (likes, dislikes or neutral) without judgment.

Becoming aware of physical hunger and satiety cues to guide your decisions to begin and end eating.

Someone Who Eats Mindfully:

Acknowledges that there is no right or wrong way to eat but varying degrees of awareness surrounding the experience of food.

Accepts that their eating experiences are unique.

Is an individual who by choice, directs their attention to eating on a moment-by-moment basis.

Gains awareness of how they can make choices that support health and well-being.

Becomes aware of the interconnection of earth, living beings, and cultural practices and the impact of their food choices on those systems.”

Image credit: Summertomato.com

After reading more about mindfulness, I decided to try it. Here are some of the things I did:

  1. I thought about my food choices. I had one Rice Krispie Bar (they are tiny for 4 Smart Points) and told myself it was better to have a smaller portion than none at all. I felt in control because I was consciously making a choice.
  2. I thought about the message I wanted to send my body. I said something along the lines of, “I’m eating to nourish my body.” I did not criticize myself and say things like, “I shouldn’t eat this.” I made a choice and logged the points.
  3. I listened to my body. I had been feeling really achy lately. It is dry here in Colorado, and I knew it was time to up my liquid intake. I did so and suddenly starting feeling better each day. SCORE!
  4. I became an inner gourmet and paid attention to how my food tasted. The first three bites are what apps up our taste buds. After that, the taste goes down. I savored those first three bites and slowed down my eating.
  5. I appreciated the atmosphere of where I was eating. I love sitting at the bar in my kitchen. It is a fun, cheerful setting and always makes me happy.

My first week on Weight Watchers online was successful. I didn’t lose weight, but then, I didn’t gain either. I logged my food intake and points daily. I realized a few things about myself that I hadn’t thought about before. That is always a good thing! Reflection on past habits helps you change your perspective on the future.

Weight Watchers suggested that I get 46 minutes a day of exercise. That equals 322 minutes a week of exercise or 42 Smart Points. I managed to complete 27 points. I had some back pain issues to overcome which I have been able to do this week.

One of my readers said that by the looks of my photo, she wasn’t sure that I needed to lose 15 pounds. Thank you! Photos are the best when you can manipulate them to make you look skinnier! Anyway, here is why I want to lose that weight.

I want to feel healthier.

My extra weight gain has been in the front, (eye roll) and that weight pulls at my back muscles. The result is lower back pain and weak muscles. I also come from a family where diabetes runs rampant. My grandmother, sister, brother, and at least one of my nieces all have had issues with diabetes. I’ve had to deal with Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis and had a goiter, which resulted in the total removal of my thyroid gland. I will be 59 years old in April and for me, staying healthy is more important now, than ever before.

That is why I am on this journey. A few years ago, my doctor decided that for my height and frame, 175 pounds was a good weight for me to maintain. That is my aim, to return to that weight. And, then… I need to stay there. ❤

Here’s who joined us last week for Mindful Weight Loss:

Pat, from her blog, P. C. Zick.com

Annette, from her blog, Annette Rochelle Aben

Shan Jeniah’s Lovely Chaos, and her post, Building Blocks for Mindful Monday (a must read about setting goals)

Terri, from her blog, Second Wind Leisure

Kate, from her blog, Kate McClelland

Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. It always makes the path easier when we have friends along for the ride.

Remember… If you would like to join me with your mindful goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping-back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my Mindful Monday posts. I’m happy to see you!

SHARE THE JOY! NAMASTE.

READ MORE ON COLLEEN’S FAIRY WHISPERS

Sign up for my monthly newsletter where you will find new reads from across the web plus a few creations of my own. Written, just for you, with fairy love and mindfulness, each month. Just fly over to my SIGN UP PAGE and enter your email. ❤

CONNECT WITH ME – I love hearing from you!

colleenchesebro.com  Amazon  Twitter  Facebook  Google+  Instagram

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Love that divided plate. I am grateful for your posts, they really help us remember that weight loss has to start in our heads. You’ll see the results sooner than you know. ❤

    Like

  2. Thank you, Annette. Next week, I am going to talk about the “Simply Filling,” plan. It is an easy plan to follow to help you get used to recognizing the signals your body sends you. Portions are the goal to losing weight. I am convinced of that! Thanks for your support. ❤

    Like

  3. This is great! I love how you rounded up all of the Mindful eating info into this post. (I forwarded the e-mail to my daughter who is trying to eat mindfully). Interestingly she had a goiter at age 10 and is on Thyroid meds. Colleen, I predict you will lose more weight than you expect. I went in thinking I would be grateful to lose 12-15 pounds, because with other diets in midlife, that’s all I could lose. But I lost 30! It wasn’t about the numbers, although I’m not complaining, but about how I took so much weight and pressure off of my knees and feet. Keep up the great work and keep inspiring us with these posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Terri! That’s my aim too… knees and back. Wow, that’s something about your daughter. I have to get my synthesis reduced – heart palpitations. Walking 70 minutes a day is helping me already. I keep plugging along. I’ll let you know Wednesday how I did. Thanks for your support. Hugs. 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shanjeniah says:

    This is an excellent post. I’ll be absorbing it, and using some of the tips and info as I set my own mindful eating goals in motion.

    I went in a different direction this week, but I think you might like it. =)

    http://shanjeniahslovelychaos.com/lovely-chaos-blog/2017/2/27/a-mindful-monday-rerun-i-am-and-ever-shall-be-your-friend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been helping a friend with her manuscript and didn’t post this week. I will try to catch up in the days ahead. I will stop by and read your post. Hugs. ❤

      Like

I love hearing from you! <3

