Mindful Monday – Are You Catching Enough ZZZ’s?

012217_2215_MindfulMond1.jpg

Welcome to Mindful Monday. Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more conscious about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to engage in the present.

Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.


Sleep – the elusive butterfly. It dances around at night taunting us with promises of sweet relaxation and blissfully sweet dreams. Every living being needs a sound slumber to operate the next day. Unfortunately, sleep has become something we all wish we had more of. Add into the mix the seasonal changes of daylight savings time, and we have a recipe for distress!

There are many causes for our lack of sleeplessness. Some of us have health issues that disrupt our sleep. If that is your situation, it is best left to discussions with your physician to help you resolve those problems. The same would go for insomniacs, people who habitually cannot sleep.

What about the majority of us who don’t fall into those categories? There are some easy steps you can take, and there are home remedies that do work. Practiced in conjunction with a nightly meditation session, you will find some relief.

Draxe.com/can’t-sleep shares “20 Ways to Fall Asleep Fast:”

Many times, our sleeplessness is caused by our own mistakes. Eating too much, a late-night cocktail, or simply staying up too late and getting up too early. Mindbodygreen.com shares “7 Sleep Mistakes You Don’t Know You are Making, and How to Fix Them:”

Here is my favorite 10-minute guided meditation to ease anxiety, worry, and urgency from Positive Magazine Meditation Relaxation Inspiration. I like to listen to this video sometimes when I am worried about something and feel like I just cannot let go of it. I use ear buds with my tablet and just lay back and listen to the soothing words.

One of my favorite websites, “No Sleepless Nights.com” reveals relaxation techniques to help you calm your mind so you can get a good night’s sleep. Here is another video to take you through a guided muscle relaxation process for rest:

If all else fails, I get up and read a book and enjoy a cup of herbal tea. Chamomile tea is one that helps me relax.

Here is another link from No Sleepless Nights.com that talks about all the different kinds of teas to help you sleep. I found it interesting that No Sleepless Nights.com suggests that no scientific evidence exists that supports the drinking of tea as a sleep cure. Many ancient and folk remedies used teas and tinctures for healing. I must say that if it works for you, go for it!

Remember to consult your doctor if your sleeplessness interferes with you living your life. Lack of sleep is nothing to mess with! Sleep well, my friends.

I’m not sleeping… I’m dream writing.

I am happy to report that I am walking at least 3 miles a day on my treadmill and have been able to edge a total of four pounds off! My doctor has increased the dose of my thyroid medication as my hormones were all over the place. Hopefully, that will get me at a level I need to be.

I am still suffering from some muscle spasms in my back, but the walking does help to ease them. I find there is a fine line to walk (literally) between the right amount of exercise and too much. Yesterday, I walked four miles in our pleasant weather, and today I am exhausted.

Part of this is due to the thyroid problem, but I am confident that in time this will correct itself.

Weight Watchers online continues to motivate and guide me. I highly recommend this program if you are serious about weight loss.

Image credit: heandsheeatclean.com

Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. It always makes the path easier when we have friends along for the ride.

Remember… If you would like to join me with your mindful goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping-back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my Mindful Monday posts. I’m happy to see you!

READ MORE ON COLLEEN’S FAIRY WHISPERS

Sign up for my monthly newsletter where you will find new reads from across the web plus a few creations of my own. Written, just for you, with fairy love and mindfulness, each month. Just fly over to my SIGN UP PAGE and enter your email. ❤

CONNECT WITH ME – I love hearing from you!

colleenchesebro.com  Amazon  Twitter  Facebook  Google+  Instagram

14 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – Are You Catching Enough ZZZ’s?

  1. My Naturopath recently mentioned that magnesium is absorbed through the skin… going right where it needs to be. So, if we are using it to help us relax and unwind, then what we need to do it to take an epsom salt bath/soak. If that is not possible, then we can mix some finely ground epsom salt into Rose Cream (DMSO) and massage that into our bodies (shoulders, hips, neck) that way, our body gets what it needs and we release effectively!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been using epsom salts in my baths for years.I swear by it. I walked over four miles on Saturday and believe I dehydrated myself. (We had 4% humidity) Anyway, I was miserable yesterday. Late in the afternoon I indulged in a long soak with epsom salts. By dinner time I was feeling better. I love the idea of adding epsom salt to rose cream. ❤

      Like

  2. I’ve long since stopped trying to will myself to sleep. Some of my before bed activities might seem counterintuitive, but they work for me.
    Still, some good ideas here for the rare times when I or one of my loved ones need sleep I can’t get.

    I’ve gone in a slightly different direction this week…

    Slices of an Unschooling Life
    @shanjeniah
    Indie Writer, Mom-in-Chief, and Joyful Learning Facilitator
    Shan Jeniah’s Lovely Chaos

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good for you, Terri. Some nights I just cannot sleep. My mind is working too hard, I think. I have been taking a half tablet of melatonin which seems to be doing the trick. They say sleeping is also the key to weight loss! 😀 Hugs. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved this Colleen! Do we ever catch enough zzzzs anymore? But great helpful tips. You know the old saying, ‘you’re so tired you can’t get out of bed and when it comes to bedtime you can’t fall asleep’. I think that part is our over active imaginations and worries. My remedy to shut off and go to sleep is to read. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Colleen, inspiring post as always from you. Thank you for all the great information on sleep. I don’t think I fall into the insomniac level of sleeplessness but I do experience mind overload sometimes. It’s true there is nothing as good as a good nights sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! <3

