Mindful Monday – Reflections on the Passing of Time

012217_2215_MindfulMond1.jpg

Welcome to Mindful Monday. Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more conscious about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to engage in the present.

Celebrating

Come and join me on my journey. You never know what you will learn about yourself.

The past month has been busy and filled with all the ups and downs that life brings. Sometimes I ponder over how quickly time disappears. How can I manage to accomplish everything I want to do – and write? The years are advancing and time simply dissolves.

9b16f45bc2cc97c25b9e6128205bb61d

April 16th is our 32nd wedding anniversary. On April 18th I will be 59 years old. I have no idea how I have reached that age other than that I am healthy and happy. My mother passed away at 38 years old when I was three. My sister passed away at 55 years old. My father passed away at 68 years. The older you get the more you learn to value each passing year.

Celebrate

I usually become reflective at this time of year because the advancing years prompt a look back at all I’ve been and done. So, to celebrate the inevitability of the passage of time here are:

FIVE THINGS TO REFLECT ON WHEN ITS YOUR BIRTHDAY

graphics-fairies-230085

What did you accomplish in the past year?

2016-07-15 14.48.40

Last year was a whirlwind that passed in months of writing. I lived in my brain for much of the time penning my debut novel, The Heart Stone Chronicles: The Swamp Fairy. I spent time researching fairy nymphs and learning how to write a novel. I am proud that I set out to write a novel and did it. Now, I did not do this alone. I had plenty of help and you know who you are if you are reading this. Thanks for being there when I needed you most.

Where did the time go?

clock fairy

You know the old saying that time flies when you’re having fun? It fits my life perfectly. I am blessed to have the love of my best friend and husband. Ron has always encouraged me to do the things that bring me joy and fulfillment. How many husbands do that? I feel like I have lived a couple different lives all in these 59 years. That is what propels me to keep moving forward and enjoying life – there is more to come and these years of retirement are the best yet.

What did you learn this year?

home-office-336373__180

I feel like a sponge when it comes to learning. In fact, one of the best things I have learned is to accept the things that I can’t change. Life is never easy and when you have a blended family you just have to let some things go. Never in my wildest dreams did I think that some my children and my grandchildren would not communicate with me. Most of the circumstances behind this dysfunction was beyond my control. Even so, I struggle with the feelings of rejection and still do.  Some things you just can’t fix if the other people involved don’t feel the same way. Yet, somehow I’m able to funnel some of that pain and pour it into creative pursuits. Writing and poetry give me a solace I never had before. It’s a mindful journey – accept the feelings and move on.

I could go on and on about what I learned in the past year when it came to writing, self-publishing, blogging, etc. What I really love is that when you learn, you continue to grow and experience life to the fullest. That my friends is the best message of all! Don’t be afraid to grow.

Are you living up to your potential?

Did you get my text

I push myself hard. Sometimes, too hard. I have a drive inside of me that pushes me to be the best I can be at all times. It’s that Aries thing, you know. Besides, I have many projects in the works for this year. Planning is my middle name. I like to set goals and aim for the stars!

Are you ready for another year?

012217_2215_MindfulMond15.png

Of course! Examine whether your glass is half full or half empty. Optimism (click the link to find ways to raise your optimism) is the key. View each day like a gift and live it to the fullest you can.

I have a dear friend that has been diagnosed with a debilitating disease. You know what she said when she found out? She said it was a relief and suddenly each day took on a golden glow filled with promise. Her words hit me like a ton of bricks had fallen on my heart. I heard these words resonate in my head: Don’t waste time on trivial drama and things that bring you pain. Live!


WW Weekly Update

I keep working on my weight loss journey. It is slow but I have lost 6 pounds! I weigh on Wednesday so we will see how I do. My doctor did increase my thyroid medication and that has been a great help.

Ron bought me a Fitbit for my birthday. I really love the ease of counting steps and logging miles. I have the Fitbit synced to my Weight Watchers app. In one week I walked 26 miles! All those daily steps really add up!

Exercise

Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. It always makes the path easier when we have friends along for the ride.

Remember… If you would like to join me with your mindful goals, please do. The whole idea is to start thinking about ways that you can get in touch with your own mindfulness needs and how it pertains to your life. Write about it. We all learn from each other’s experiences.

If you’d like, you can link to my post with a ping-back each week in a separate post on your own blog. I will add your blog to a list of Mindful Monday supporters that others can visit to gain motivation on each of my Mindful Monday posts. I’m happy to see you!

READ MORE ON COLLEEN’S FAIRY WHISPERS

Sign up for my monthly newsletter where you will find new reads from across the web plus a few creations of my own. Written, just for you, with fairy love and mindfulness, each month. Just fly over to my SIGN UP PAGE and enter your email. ❤

CONNECT WITH ME – I love hearing from you!

colleenchesebro.com  Amazon  Twitter  Facebook  Google+  Instagram

 

 

14 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – Reflections on the Passing of Time

  1. What an uplifting post, Colleen! Your optimism touches everyone who knows you, whether personally or through social media. Congratulations on your successes. Remember, it is not the years that count, but what you do with them. Love and hugs, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! <3

