Mindful Monday

012217_2215_MindfulMond1.jpg

Welcome to Mindful Monday. Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more conscious about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to engage in the present.

Hello Sunshine

It’s spring in the Rocky Mountains, and you never know what the day will bring. I’ve seen it rain, snow, sleet, peered through the fog and watched steam from the hot sun hitting the wet streets blow around and look like fog… And, that was just in one day!

Did I mention the wind?

the winds of change

Seriously, we get some wicked winds here. Most of them are down-sloping winds or Chinook winds that blow warm and dry across the prairies. In Montana, the Native Americans called them ‘the snow eaters.’ I would say that is a correct description of the winds in Colorado, also. And, some of them will blow more than 60 mph!

Colorado is high desert and not the easiest place to grow a garden. Nevertheless, I have never let that deter me. One of my favorite ways to engage in mindfulness is to work outside in my garden. There is just something about communing with nature and getting your hands dirty. I love it.

dirt

My back garden is small and surrounded by a rock perimeter along the fence. My husband and I debated about what we would do for planting containers. It was quite a lively discussion.

Finally, last spring, we bought three metal sheep’s troughs from our local Big R store. I was looking for something that could stand the temperature changes and remain sturdy enough for plants.

My husband drilled holes in the bottom, and I filled them with rich loamy soil. In no time at all, I had a garden. You can read about my 2016 garden here.

2016-05-12 10.18.11

Drilling holes

2016-05-13 13.56.56

Filling the troughs

June 2016 garden

June 2016 garden

Gardening is good for the soul. Did you know that gardening can also reduce your risk of stroke? On top of that, it also burns calories. Depending on your activity level, some gardening can equal a high-intensity workout. If you work in your garden for just 30 minutes a day performing moderate activities, like weeding or raking, you will help to control your blood pressure.

Gardening is a stress reliever and will improve your mood. Working in the soil is another way to commune with nature. Just the act of watering is soothing to me. It gives me time to think about nothing else except the plants themselves.

Growing plants is another way to give meaning to our lives. The connection formed with nature helps us to appreciate the beauty found in our natural world. When I garden, I am often overcome with feelings of gratitude and abundance. It is pure mindfulness and a celebration of life when I hold that pepper or cucumber in my hand. I feel like a parent all over again.

Check out these thought provoking links:

If you want to practice mindfulness, the garden is the place to be!

*New Research on Plant Intelligence May Forever Change How You Think About Plants*

Let Go

Plant your own garden and cultivate your soul.

WW Weekly Update

It has been a great week. I am slowly losing weight, and this week another .6th of a pound came off. Yes!! I have continued to eat my largest meal at breakfast, a salad and lean meat at lunch, and for dinner, it is a smoothie or veggie rice noodle soup with lean meat. Each evening, I indulge in two low-fat graham crackers (eight total sections) with my tea. Fruit has been my go-to for sweets. But those graham crackers keep me sane!

The Fitbit is actually helping me to get up and move around each hour. I am now walking a minimum of 3 miles a day on the treadmill – that’s 21 miles a week! I have walked every day of the week now except for a couple days on vacation. Funny thing was, I felt terrible and could tell I had missed my work out.

I feel stronger, and that is wonderful and what I had hoped to achieve. I can’t garden if I feel weak and get worn out after a little exercise, can I? 😃

keep trying

Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. It always makes the path easier when we have friends along for the ride. Let me know in the comments if you have plans for a garden this year. ❤

Cheerio!See you next week!

11 thoughts on “Mindful Monday

Add yours

  1. Years ago, I used to take a graham cracker sheet, snap it in two and spread 2 tablespoons of non dairy whipped topping on one, top it with the other. THEN wrap it in plastic wrap, toss it in the freezer for several hours. It became my “ice cream sandwich” snack

    Liked by 3 people

    1. That sounds like a great idea. I can’t do dairy so PB2 might have to be my choice. I made a cake for our anniversary and my birthday and used sugar-free frosting. I couldn’t eat it. I even tried the lactate pills you can buy. Didn’t help. I have found some wonderful dairy free cheeses so that does help. I understand if you take full-fat canned coconut milk and add powdered sugar you can make a frosting. I will try that next. Hugs to you Annette. Let me know what day you are free so I can call and catch up with you. I miss you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fab post Colleen. Gardening is indeed good for the soul and the waistline. That’s what I miss about not having a house anymore. Hanging baskets on my balcony don’t quite cut it, lol. Good for you on the diet path! And, I read Annette’s comment, I had to laugh cuz that’s one of my own little sweet tooth tricks! 🙂 Gotta love those Graham crackers. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ll have to check out the grahams. I’m an ice cream fan and indulge in the smart ones peanut butter cup sundaes. Congrats on your continued weight loss and your miles of treadmill! I need to do more gardening and like your sheep troughs. ..good idea! My puppy still digs,so I may have to table the garden til next year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats, Colleen, on your continued success on your weight loss journey. I miss our treadmill and my Pilates reformer and tower, but we had no space for them in our new home. Keep up the good work. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! <3

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

