Mindful Monday – Daily Self Care

Mindful Monday

Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more conscious about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to engage in the present.

Welcome to Mindful Monday. This week I am all about self-care and learning to be kind to yourself.

I am a student of mindfulness.  I do not have all the answers for me, or anyone else.  Rather, I learn as I go, much like the rest of us in this world.  However, I strive toward improvement.  I want to be a mindful person, so that requires me to broach the subject with myself daily.

Mindful living 101

Image credit: Watersedge

I am working on becoming an observer of my own actions.  Trying to be non-judgmental of other people is a lesson that we must visit at one time or another in our lives.

No matter how hard I try, sometimes a past experience sneaks in and colors my attitude which causes me to become judgmental about the experience.  It took awhile, but I had to recognize this aspect of my behavior and come to grips with it.  Realization is a powerful tool in the changing of behaviors.  Eventually, I decided to learn how to live and let live. That experience led me to another revelation. See what mindfulness does?

My self-reflection led me to realize that I don’t take care of myself as well as I take care of everyone else. I was stunned when I arrived at that conclusion. I didn’t realize that I had fallen into a pattern of taking care of everyone else except me. Yet it was true. No wonder I felt taken advantage of.

How many of you have a daily ritual where you take some real time out for yourself? If you are like most women, you don’t. We are mothers, wives, daughters, sisters, friends, etc. and there are only so many hours in the day. We spend our time nurturing and caring for others… except ourselves.

I decided to take control. The first thing I did was to plan my day. I decided I wanted to do things that made me happy every day. So, I started small.

I scheduled time on my treadmill first thing in the morning so that would become a priority. After that, it was time to do laundry, clean the kitchen or complete whatever chore needed to be done. Once that was complete, I felt I had earned the time to spend writing, blogging, and dealing with social media.

My husband is retired so he has his own schedule. There are many things he likes to do around the house. You know what? I let him. I let go of controlling everything and allowed him to participate in the care of the house. That was a huge decision and one I am thankful for. It changed my attitude and his. We both win.

My life has only gotten better on the happiness meter because I was willing to make changes and let things go. That is a step in the right direction of taking care of yourself.

What do you do for self-care?

dailyselfloveschedule-v3

Remember to take care of yourself this week. You deserve it!

Image result for images of self-care

Image credit: lovethispic.com

C ya  Thanks for stopping by. I’m always glad to see all of you. ❤

 

13 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – Daily Self Care

I love hearing from you! <3

