Mindful Monday – How to Deal with Dissapointment

Mindful Monday

WELCOME TO MINDFUL MONDAY

Each week I look at new or sometimes old things about myself on my journey to becoming more conscious about my life journey. I have found that being mindful encompasses the act of being watchful, aware, wary, heedful, alert, careful, or attentive, in whatever area in my life I feel it applies to, as I try to engage in the present.

disappointed

This past week I dealt with disappointment. Our vacation didn’t go as planned and you know with family dynamics and different personalities sometimes that is just how it evolves. Yes, this thing called disappointment happens to all of us. How do you choose to handle it? Of course, not everything can always go as you planned or hoped. That is a simple truth.

Image result for images of dealing with disappointment

Image credit: Healthyplace.com

How do you handle disappointment? Do you scream, cry, or hide?

For me, disappointment is one of those miserable feelings that are all wrapped up in anger, hurt, and sadness. Frustration is at the top of that list too… because most of the time if I experience disappointment it is based on things that are out of my control.

So, here’s what I did. Since I was exhausted and couldn’t think about the situation clearly, I took some extra long naps and watched HGTV. I relaxed in a couple of hot baths with a good book. At that point, I felt like I was ready to deal with my feelings.

bath time

I remembered my mindfulness journey and decided to experience the feelings, for whatever they were worth. It hurt like heck, but I knew I had to let my feelings surface. I didn’t try to change how I felt. Instead, I tried to be present in the moment and let the feelings roll around inside of me. Believe me, it wasn’t pretty.

Yet, I gave myself the time to deal with my emotions. I also showed that I cared about myself and my feelings. I was taking care of me!

Taking care of me

At that point, I was able to gain some perspective on the situation by stepping back from my personal feelings. I knew what had happened was not my fault. Yes, I felt sad at the change of events, although I realized that the decisions my husband and I made at the time were correct for us.

I always try to be open-hearted toward people. I came to realize that the negative feelings I had would pass. I chose to not wallow in the negativity because it does no good for anyone. Besides, I felt like I know my own heart and trust my instincts. In doing so, I have given myself the freedom of choice.

In this particular family situation, there is nothing else I can do. I made my thoughts known at the time. It is up to the other person to decide their next step.

Most times when something disappointing happens I feel like I want to hide and blame the person who disappointed me. This time, I decided to quit acting so naive. Things happen and I know I will be disappointed again. That is life and I need to start dealing with it.

Image result for images of dealing with disappointment

Image credit: Pinterest.com

Guess what? Those feelings of disappointment will pass. They are not forever.

Disappoint is a part of life.  It will happen again. And, when it does, I choose to be aware of my feelings and live in the present. Then, I can move on and refocus my goals. ❤

Image result for images of dealing with disappointment

Image credit: Pinterest.com

For more on dealing with disappointment check out psychologytoday.com.

healthy living

I had quite the set back on my weight loss journey. I was stressed and I ate. Pure and simple. Once those negative feelings passed I got my act together. I am back on track and pursuing my Weight Watchers plan.

I had a doctor’s visit and we discussed me learning a new skill… YOGA! Gentle stretching will help build up my core and will stop my back pain. Are you ready to go on that journey with me? Stay tuned… it should be quite entertaining.

See you soonHave a great week. I wish you all peace and joy in all you do! ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Mindful Monday – How to Deal with Dissapointment

  1. This is such a timely post for me! Firstly, I’m sorry so much disappointment put you into a bit of a tailspin and got you off the WW track! All weekend I participated in a ladies windsurf clinic taught by a lovely Dutch Pro! Everything she showed us made it look so easy, but by the time we got on the water Saturday (windy as heck), I couldn’t remember half the stuff. The next day, the wind was very light and I ended up wrenching my right knee. I literally was sobbing as I dragged my gear out of the water. Then one of my sails laying on shore upended and landed in some brush, tearing small holes in it. That was it! Disappointment to say the least. Plus I was cold, sore and tired. Thank goodness two of my windsurfer girlfriends talked me off the ledge and made me feel better. I did get a ton of exercise, not to mention zillions of activity points for hours of sailing 🙂 but, still…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, no! It’s our perception of how we think it’s supposed go that gets us every time. Our family situation was not fun. Still, a part of me feels like we had to go because we were warning my step daughter. She didn’t listen but I think sometimes the universe is trying to tell us something. I’m glad you weren’t hurt any further than your knee. You’ll be back on your feet in no time. ❤️❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an inspirational post, Colleen. I loved the Brad Warner quote. I never thought about it that way. We experience disappointment fairly often as things don’t always measure up to our expectations. You have a terrific way of turning things around and looking for the positives in life. I hope you are back on track now. Love and Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Last Tuesday, my teen son and I narrowly avoided disaster when part of my steering system broke on an interstate. Scary moments, and the disappointment of knowing that my car isn’t worth enough to repair, considering that our financial circumstances have been rather precarious for the last year.

    The situation also brought my Accomplice’s emotions to a head in a way that wasn’t productive. I’ve become more aware of my own responses as an observer, I didn’t stop the conversation when I could see it wasn’t moving toward a resolution.

    Rather than blame him, I’ve decided to be more mindful of my own responses. I’ll have more to say on that next Monday. but I feel some vital progress and decisions that needed to be made came from that disappointment, and we’ll emerge from the aftermath stronger than we were at the outset.

    I believe there’s always a positive angle – even if it needs to be looked at for some time, and very carefully….

    I’m glad you realized when there was nothing else to be done, but to change plans.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! I hope you and your son are all right. What a terrible thing to happen. I do agree with you that disappointments prompt change. I always look at why things happen. There is always a reason. It is easier to be positive than negative and besides negativity is exhausting. Hugs to you and I hope your situation improves. ❤

      Like

      1. We’re fine. He was somewhat shaken up, but keeps telling me how impressive I was. I keep having mental flashes of how easily a semi could have been in one of those lanes we crossed…and all the things that could have happened instead of what did.

        And I’m a little sad about my car. It wasn’t remotely fancy or new, but it was like a comfortable old friend. I miss it, but the pleasure in just being alive makes up for the loss of freedom (we live rurally) and convenience.

        Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you! <3

